Democratic Socialist Movement

For Struggle, Solidarity and Socialism in Nigeria

By - DSM

SPN Supports Mass Protest against Insecurity and Poverty Organized by TPAP-M

We call on Labour to mobilize for a 48-Hour General Strike and Mass Protest against Insecurity and anti-people policies

The Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN) supports the mass protest against insecurity and mass poverty organized by The People’s Alternative Political Movement (TPAP-M) holding today, May 31, 2021.

The state of insecurity has attained a dangerous level as the lives and property of Nigerians have come under constant threat. Kidnapping, robbery and other violent crimes are on the increase while the capitalist state and governments have woefully failed to respond to the crises. Increasingly, more Nigerians are condemned to life of poverty and misery and many Nigerians have lost their jobs. We call on labour to mobilize for a 48 hours general strike and mass protest against insecurity, growing poverty and all anti-people policies.

The SPN calls on the working people and the masses to join the mass protest and similar initiatives. Beyond the mass protest, there is the need to build a pan Nigerian mass working peoples’ party to challenge and defeat the political parties (PDP, APC, APGA etc.) of the self-serving ruling elite. Hence, we call on Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress (TUC) to convene a conference of trade unions, left-leaning political parties like SPN and pro-masses organizations like JAF to commence the process of building a political party of the working people.

The profit-first capitalist system is responsible for the growing poverty and insecurity. The trade union movement and the working masses should be prepared to defeat the capitalist system and build a socialist system wherein resources, production and exchange will be planned to meet the needs of all.

Abiodun Bamigboye                                                                      Chinedu Bosah

Acting National Chairperson                                                        National Secretary

E-mail: [email protected]